Posted by: jockmackenzie | April 26, 2012

Reading – little kids and bigger kids

This post contains a logo, a little kids reading survey, and a middle school survey. Your input is requested.

As mentioned in my post of March 6 2012, I will act as the Teacher Supervisior or Program Co-ordinator or Grand Poobah (haven’t come up with the right moniker just yet) for a month-long program in July for 30 emerging readers who will have finished Grade Two. Sadly, they will have completed Grade Two but won’t be reading at grade level. That’s the role of Reading College.

Part of the our job will be to determine a pre-  and post- attitude toward reading. To that end, our friends in Camrose who run Reading University at Augustana University  have suggested the following Garfield survey. Several of our classroom teachers who are sending students to our program have opined, “The survey is a bit long and somewhat redundant.” A similar writing survey is much longer.

I am including the Garfield survey here and would ask for reader comments: Which questions (if any) do you find redundant?

So that’s the “little kids’” survey. I would certainly appreciate any thoughts you have – please comment if you can.

And now for the “bigger kids.” I have a copy of the September 2003 issue of Voices from the Middle, A Publication of the National Council of Teachers of English and I refer to several of the articles when I am thinking about reading for the middle years. In an article by Mari Beth Bennett (From Practice to Preaching: Helping Content Area Teachers Teach Comprehension), she includes a survey that I think is worth sharing:

As with all of my posts, I intend all that I share to be of practical use to classroom teachers. I trust those whose ideas I pass along will appreciate the concept of creating a better world for today’s students.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 280 other followers

