Posted by: jockmackenzie | May 1, 2009

Extrinsic Rewards – all you have to do is look

As I prepare for the Alberta Middle School Conference in Lethbridge, I am reminded there will be displayers who have things to give away – free stuff – a Scotsman’s dream! The picture below shows items I picked up at just one conference. I add posters, pens, lunch kits, sticky note pads, etc. to my Giveaway collection. Students can select items from the numerous offerings when their coupons are drawn. Coupons? Yes, I give coupons for returning signed sheets from home, for being the first to find the Pot of Gold (an opening activity I will explain soon), for excelling at any of a myriad of tasks. Coupons aren’t hard to earn. Winning one says “Thank you” in itself. The extra bling is a bonus.

ceatca-swag-2


Leave a Reply

Categories

