Posted by: jockmackenzie | July 11, 2009

I Quit Smokin’

I QUIT SMOKIN’

burning_cigar_small
I quit smokin’, now I’m free
No more nicotine for me!
Good-bye cough and good-bye hack
No more monkey on my back.

Yes, it’s adios to smokin’
It’s hello to better health
If I’m cravin’, I’ll be savin’
I’ll be on the road to wealth.

It’s a ten spot for those killers
I had said I’d quit at five
But I didn’t have the backbone
Guess I’m lucky I’m alive.

I quit smokin’, now I’m free
No more nicotine for me!
Good-bye cough and good-bye hack
No more monkey on my back.

So it’s rock you later Rothman’s
And adieu DuMaurier
See ya on the flip side Player’s
Hasta la vista Export A

I’m a little late at learnin’
But it’s time to go to school
I know cancer’s not the answer
Even if I’m not as cool

I may miss my buckin’ bronco
Rollin’ on a windy day
Lightin’ matches on my blue jeans
But I’ve found a better way.

I quit smokin’, now I’m free
No more nicotine for me!
Good-bye cough and good-bye hack
No more monkey on my back.

I have seen the light; I’m wiser
It is time for hip hoorays
I am really quite the hero
It’s already been 2 days!


As a language arts teacher and one who teaches students to write poems and songs, I enjoy taking ideas from life and putting them into verse. I haven’t smoked for years and am grateful to have beaten that particular addiction. For friends and relatives who do smoke, I feel your pain when it’s quittin’ time. It is, indeed, an addiction all dressed up with “cool” and “maturity” and “Oh, isn’t this relaxing” attached to it. Happily, I lasted more than the aforementioned “2 days.”

(Photo from bigfoto.com)


Leave a Reply

Categories

