Posted by: jockmackenzie | August 2, 2009

Speaking – Joke Telling #7

P4040080

ONE OF THE MAIN IDEAS WITH JOKE TELLING IS TO GET STUDENTS TO “TELL” THE JOKES, NOT MERELY TO SAY THEM OR, AS SOME HAVE DONE, TO READ THEM. BY REPEATING THE TELLING (AS DESCRIBED EARLIER), THE STUDENT GETS PRACTICE. AND WITH PRACTICE, COMES FAMILIARITY. WITH FAMILIARITY, COMES CONFIDENCE. IN THE GROUPS OF FOUR, STUDENTS ALSO HAVE BOTH GOOD AND NOT-SO-GOOD EXAMPLES OF JOKE TELLING, AND AS WE KNOW, SOMETIMES WE LEARN AS MUCH FROM THE NOT-SO-GOOD EXAMPLES IN LIFE.

An elderly man appeared at the Pearly Gates to heaven. He was asked if there was anything particularly special that he had done in his life. The man was quick with an answer.

“I stood up to an entire biker gang!” he stated proudly.

When asked to explain, he described the scene. “I was driving down a lonely stretch of highway. I saw what must have been 50 motorcycles pulled over to one side of the road. As I got closer, I could see a gang of bikers standing in a circle around a young lady – and I knew she was in deep trouble. I slammed on my brakes, jumped out of my car, and marched right into the middle of the circle. I looked around for the biggest, meanest-looking biker. I found this huge mountain of a man and I told him if he or any of his buddies laid a hand on the lady, well, then he’d have to answer to me. Oh, and I poked him in the chest a few times to make my point.”

The angel at the gates asked, “And at what time during your life did this event happen?”

The man replied, “Oh, I’d say about a minute ago.”

* * *

A man walked into the Pro Shop of a golf course. He explained that he needed someone with really good eyesight to accompany him in his golf cart. He went on to tell the golf pro that he could hit the ball over 300 yards but, unfortunately, suffered from poor eyesight.

The pro replied, “Well, this is your lucky day! We’ve got an elderly gentleman here who can see forever. He’s 93-years-old but we call him “Eagle Eyes” Freddie because of his amazing vision.”

It turned out that old Freddie was available so he joined the man for a round of golf. The first hole was a par 5, and sure enough, the man hit a smokin’ drive that went a mile. The man turned to “Eagle Eyes” Freddie and asked, “Did you see that? Do you know where it ended up?”

Freddie replied, “Absolutely, they don’t call me “Eagle Eyes” for nothin’.”

The two men jumped into the golf cart and headed down the fairway. Several times the man checked to see if Freddie was sure where the ball was – and Freddie assured him that he knew the exact spot. As they drew near to an area about 300 yards from the tee box, the man turned again to the 93-year old Freddie. He asked, “Do you know where my ball is?”

Freddie replied, “I do – but I forget.”



Leave a Reply

Categories

