Posted by: jockmackenzie | September 5, 2009

Rewards 2

P9030040

P9030037

Look carefully – what’s different about the golf balls?

I believe in both intrinsic and extrinsic rewards – and I am always on the lookout for the extrinsic ones. My wife and I were thrilled to attend, as spectators, the Pro-Am portion of the CN Canadian Women’s Open golf tournament currently underway at Priddis Greens near Calgary.

I took two sleeves of brand new golf balls and a Sharpie. Result: four autographed golf balls by world famous golfers. I wouldn’t normally bother a star for her autograph but I stepped outside the box (and into Autograph Alley) to get four more prizes that I can give to deserving students. Hopefully, some kid will enjoy having one of the balls shown above, ones signed by Lorie Kane, Christie Kerr, Sophie Gustafson, and Cassie Campbell.

I will explain my “Draws for Prizes” system in an upcoming blog, but in September it’s important to start gathering the goodies.

*** The difference in the balls? The ball third from the left shows Tania Hyett’s signature in the first picture but Sophie Gustafson’s in the second shot. Why? The third ball has two signatures – world famous golfer and totally-unknown-but-probably-has-a-cool-life caddie. I like to promote the idea that you don’t have to be the superstar to lead an interesting life and I will share that philosophy when I tell the students about these prizes.

And now a chance for audience participation – Can you suggest a good way to mount/display/present a golf ball as a prize? I believe many students would love to have a signed golf ball by a famous golfer but, as my wife says, “Presentation counts.” A golf ball all by itself lacks presentation. If you have an idea, please send it along. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

