Posted by: jockmackenzie | February 24, 2016

READER OF THE DAY #31

READER OF THE DAY #31 Marina Hetesi is another of the fantastic women who taught at Reading College this last summer. Her girls (mentioned below) were a great help as they volunteered both on site and during our Parade Day/Red Deer Public Library tour. Great mom, great kids.
 
Marina says: As a reader, I spend a lot of my free time reading. I love mysteries and historical books – both fiction and non-fiction. I have just finished reading Sarah’s Key and am going to start Still Alice. I love reading with my girls. My youngest daughter and I are reading Percy Jackson: Lightning Thief together; this is a very special time we share. I have always been an avid reader and my girls and I are frequent visitors to the public library.
 
*** Two side notes: 1. Many books are made into movies. I can’t remember if the Still Alice movie was true to the book; The Revenant surely wasn’t! But then someone said, “You can’t judge a book by its movie.”
2. I, too, am currently reading The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan. I bumped into Skylar, a Reading College student from last summer, while he and his dad and grandma were having breakfast at Hubies. In conversation, although Skylar is reading Robert Munsch, his dad is reading him the adventures of Percy Jackson.

Leave a Reply

Categories

