Posted by: jockmackenzie | March 22, 2016

READER OF THE DAY #58

Janet reading

READER OF THE DAY #50 Janet Mackenzie (my bride)

Janet’s daily routine is to start and end the day reading. When time allows, she also reads at other times and she loves it. Some of the time, we read the same books but often she chooses ones recommended by friends and sometimes Kindle suggestions or by perusing the library or . . . When she’s done, she summarizes each book in her journal.

This is what she said about reading:

“Reading – what it means to me:

  • quiet time
  • learning time
  • renewing energy
  • relaxation
  • learning about history
  • something to talk about with other people
  • escaping from the mundane into another world

I have been reading from a very young age. Walking to the downtown library when I was 10, feeling safe and stimulated at the same time by what was available. My mom (a middle school teacher) tried to kick me out of my room to socialize other kids my age but I preferred reading a book.

I’m a little obsessive in that when I find an author I like, I read just about everything they write. Leon Uris, back in the day, comes to mind.

My favourite book? Lots of them, I think, “I don’t want this to end.” One that stands out is Gone With The Wind.

Jan’s last ten reads:

Medicine Walk by Richard Wagamese

The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown

The Revenant by Michael Punke

Fever Dream & Cold Vengeance & Two Graves by Preston and Child

North to the Orient by Anne Morrow Lindbergh

The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald

The Magician’s Assistant by Ann Patchett

A House in the Sky by Amanda Lindhout

 

Jan's journal


Leave a Reply

Categories

