Posted by: jockmackenzie | March 28, 2016

READER OF THE DAY #63

Barista pic

READER OF THE DAY #63 Melissa Barista (okay, not really her last name)

Melissa served cousin Patrick and I at the new Chill Out Cafe on Ross Street. The breakfast was great coffee, egg and cheese croissant and a ‘to-die-for-fresh-out-of-the-oven’ cinnamon bun.

As part of the READER OF THE DAY project, I am trying to randomly ask people if they like reading. Melissa’s response was an immediate, “Oh, yes. I love to read. I wish I had more time.” She said her favourites are biographies and that she was waiting for a book at the public library – Jon Krakauer’s Into the Wild. When I asked for another example, Melissa said, “The Help (by Kathryn Stockett) is a book that everyone should read.”

Melissa went on to say that she also listens to a lot of books. I told her I had used Audible.com but was now using Hoopla. Her source is the free or sometimes inexpensive audiobooks available on YouTube. When I checked out her source, I found lots of older books that are now beyond copyright; it’s definitely a site that will taking some searching.

Chill Out Cafe IMG_1055

Into the Wild

The Help

YouTube books online


Leave a Reply

Categories

